In order to emphasize the fact that the pages of Advances in Mathematical Physics are open to all areas of the field, the editors decided to devote an issue of the journal to statistical mechanics and other areas of 'low energy' physics. A special editorial board was created for this purpose, consisting of Jürg Fröhlich, Charles Newman, Israel Sigal, Yakov Sinai, Thomas Spencer, Herbert Spohn, H. T. Yau (chair), Shing-Tung Yau, and Jakob Yngvason. They succeeded admirably, as we are sure our readers will agree, and we thank them heartily for this undertaking.

Abhay Ashtekar, Elliott Lieb, S-T. Yau, and Barton Zwiebach